top of page

HAPPY BIRTHDAY LITTLE SCLEROSIS!!!

Today is "Little Sclerosis" Birthday! Yay to the 1st year after the diagnostic!


Birthday.MSforDummies.com

You must be thinking that I am crazy to be celebrating the one year anniversary of the diagnosis of a chronic disease such as MS, aren't you? But I'm not. Many of us, with MS, celebrate our diagnosis anniversary. We also celebrate how long we go without an outbreak, due to the good result of the medication, or because we have no new lesions in our resonances, also because of the good levels of a blood test for the progress we make on physical therapy or pilates ... so far so good, you think, after all, those are positive results. Now, why would you also celebrate the date of diagnosis?


Despite being a serious illness, totally unpredictable and incurable (yet), most people who have been diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis have felt the same way - in a strange way: A RELIEF. (Of course, among several other most common sensations such as shock, despair, fear ...)


The initial symptoms of MS are subtle and transient, and end up not getting the attention they deserve. In many people, symptoms are treated, but the cause remains unknown for several years, and when it is finally discovered, has left sequelae. It's just not just a relief, but a necessity, because the sooner you start the treatment of Multiple Sclerosis, the better the prognosis.


With me it was a little different. I can say that I had the "luck" to present a set of very severe symptoms, which worsened every day and made me more worried, my family and doctors, leading to rapid diagnosis of Multiple Sclerosis. Still, the relief was present. Although my eyes would not focus right; my leg and my right arm did not obey me; my world does not stop spinning; and the numb feeling in my face did not stop running from one side to the other, I felt somewhat comforted to be presented to the Esclerosinha (little Sclerosis) - I came up with the nickname shortly after - because I could now seek for the right treatment, relieving symptoms and avoiding sequelae. That day January 14, 2014, even to the point of being admitted to a hospital, not knowing what would happen from then on, I could see the diagnosis as a victory, which should always be celebrated.


Multiple sclerosis can be a major obstacle in someone's life: it comes with daily medication and care, many fears and insecurities of many uncertainties, of great change. But if you tend to see the "glass half full", these changes can be positive, and not difficult, however it doesn't matter how bad it is, you will be able to celebrate each step of your life.


Did you like this post? Send an e-mail or post a comment below.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search by Tags
bottom of page